Card to the Future
Illustration in the plan's colour, not the issuer's artwork

Avalanche Card

VisaSelf-custodyKYC fullsecured credit

Avalanche Card is a Visa card run by Rain Liquidity for the Avalanche ecosystem, launched in Feb 2025. You post USDC, USDT or AVAX as collateral in your own wallet and spend up to its value; the issuer is Third National.

No partnership: we earn nothing from this card. Checked .

35Card Score, #23 of 36
−$48You keep a year
D53Trust points of 100
79%Key fields with a source

Plans side by side

U.S.
International
Price
Monthly priceFree1Monthly account fee $0Free1Monthly account fee $0
Yearly priceFree1,2No annual feeFree1,2No annual fee
Virtual card feeFree1Free1
Physical card feeFree1Free1
ShippingFree1Delivery usually 14 to 30+ business daysFree1Delivery usually 14 to 30+ business days
Staking needed0101
Other requirementsCollateral of at least the amount you want to spend2,3Spending limit equals the collateral value for stable assets; non-stable assets may support up to 50% under the U.S. agreementCollateral of at least the amount you want to spend2,3Spending limit equals the collateral value for stable assets; non-stable assets may support up to 50% under the U.S. agreement
Rewards
Paid inAvax Points (ERC-20 loyalty points, $0.01 face value)4Avax Points (ERC-20 loyalty points, $0.01 face value)4
Earns onPurchases; fees, interest, cash advances, balance transfers, chargebacks and refunds excluded4Purchases; fees, interest, cash advances, balance transfers, chargebacks and refunds excluded4
No cashback onFees and interest, Cash advances and cash equivalents, Balance transfers, Chargebacks and disputed transactions, Refunded transactions (negative points)4Fees and interest, Cash advances and cash equivalents, Balance transfers, Chargebacks and disputed transactions, Refunded transactions (negative points)4
VestingPoints go Pending, Ready, then Minted; only Minted points can be redeemed4Timing of each stage not statedPoints go Pending, Ready, then Minted; only Minted points can be redeemed4Timing of each stage not stated
PointsAvax Points: statement credit at 70% of face value ($0.007 per point) or travel portal at full face value ($0.01)4Avax Points: statement credit at 70% of face value ($0.007 per point) or travel portal at full face value ($0.01)4
PerksUp to 3 virtual cards and 1 physical card per account, Apple Pay and Google Pay1Up to 3 virtual cards and 1 physical card per account, Apple Pay and Google Pay1
Fees
FX fee2%2U.S. agreement: 2% of each international transaction. The home page says 1%; the binding agreement was used3%3International agreement: foreign exchange fee for non-USD up to 3%, plus a cross-border fee up to 3%. The home page says 1%
Crypto conversion fee0%1Site says Avalanche Card charges no gas or conversion fees; the 1% FX line on the same page and the agreements' foreign fees still apply0%1Site says Avalanche Card charges no gas or conversion fees; the 1% FX line on the same page and the agreements' foreign fees still apply
Top-up fee0%1No issuer top-up fee; you pay network gas. CryptoCards.so reports 3% for the International version, not confirmed by the issuer0%1No issuer top-up fee; you pay network gas. CryptoCards.so reports 3% for the International version, not confirmed by the issuer

What you keep

FX fee on foreign spend−$48
Net a year, U.S. plan−$48

$1,000 a month, 20% in a foreign currency, no staking. Change

Trust

Licence and regulator7 of 25

Issuer is named as Third National, a Visa-authorized issuer, but the agreements state no licence or regulator; Rain itself says it is not a bank.2,6,1

Custody and fund protection15 of 20

Collateral stays in your wallet and smart contracts and Rain says it holds no custody, but it can be liquidated without notice.1,2,3

Incidents in the last 24 months16 of 20

No incident found for the card itself. A Rain-infrastructure hack hit a different Solana card program in 2026 (search result only).7

Track record and verified volume8 of 15

Live since Feb 2025 with about $33M all-time spend and $2.8M in Oct 2026 per Paymentscan, small volume.7

Published fees and terms4 of 10

Agreements are public but fees conflict with the home page (1% vs 2-3% FX) and cashback rates and limits are unpublished.1,2,3,4

Support and user sentiment3 of 10

App rated 3.2 from 30 ratings with complaints of bugs and slow support; email and phone are published.5,3

Company

Legal entityRain Liquidity LLC (app publisher); card issued by Third National (Nimbus LLC)5,6
X@TheAvaxCard1

Issuer and licence

Card issuerThird National (Nimbus LLC, d/b/a Third National)2,3,6Named as issuer in the issuer's own agreements
Program managerRain Liquidity1,2Rain says it is a fintech, not a bank

The card

Statuslive7,5Paymentscan shows spending through Nov 2026 and the app updated recently; the issuer page has no explicit status
Launched2025-027
Typesecured credit2U.S. agreement calls it a Visa credit card secured by crypto collateral, no set credit limit
Custodyself-custody1,2Collateral stays in your wallet and smart contracts; Rain says it does not hold custody
How custody worksCollateral is held in smart contracts on supported blockchains and can be liquidated at any time without notice to repay charges; withdrawing needs 3 business days notice under the U.S. agreement2,3
KYCfull1
KYC documentsFull name, email, date of birth, SSN or national ID number, government ID and selfie1
KYC timeUsually seconds, up to 72 hours for manual review1

Funding

Crypto acceptedUSDCUSDTAVAXWAVAX1FAQ lists only USDC and AVAX
ChainsAvalanche7Settlement chain per Paymentscan; the issuer page does not list networks
Deposit feesNone charged by the issuer; user pays network gas1
Spends fromCollateral posted from your own wallet; spending limit equals collateral value for stable assets2

Payments

Where it works

United States1In many states, not in the 16 states listed as excluded

Account

OtherSpending is a collateralised credit line: purchases are repaid by liquidating collateral2,3

Security

Freeze card5App store listing mentions spend alerts, freezing and PIN changes

App

Reputation

Common complaintsForced re-logins and app bugs, Verification problems, Slow support5,8From app store reviews and a comparison site's summary of user feedback
Common praiseClean, functional app, Favorable currency conversion5Individual App Store reviews

Adoption

On-chain spend, all time$33,060,0007Paymentscan, 29,074 addresses and 439,207 transactions
On-chain spend, last month$2,849,0007Oct 2026

Regional differences

USfx fee: 22
Internationalfx fee: 33

More details

FX fee on the home page1% (Paymentscan also shows 1%); the agreements state 2% (U.S.) and up to 3% plus up to 3% cross-border (International)1,2,3,7
Late payment feeU.S.: up to 2% of the outstanding balance. International: up to $402,3
Interest on purchases0% APR; the agreements reserve the right to charge interest in future and the U.S. agreement mentions prorated interest if you stop paying in full2,3
Liquidation rulesInternational: liquidation if a payment is not made within one calendar day or collateral falls below charges. U.S.: liquidation daily, within 6 hours of a purchase, 21 days after statement due date, or on collateral shortfall; no advance notice2,3
Non-stable collateralU.S. agreement: may spend up to 50% of market value2
Card countUp to 3 virtual and 1 physical card; one of each active at a time1
Cash advancesNot available in the International agreement; U.S. agreement lists ATM use as a cash advance if enabled2,3

Quick answers

What does the Avalanche Card cost?

The U.S. plan: Free a month, Free for a physical card.

How much cashback does the Avalanche Card pay?

— on the U.S. plan, paid in Avax Points (ERC-20 loyalty points, $0.01 face value).

What is the Avalanche Card FX fee?

2% on the U.S. plan.

Is the Avalanche Card custodial?

Self-custody. Collateral is held in smart contracts on supported blockchains and can be liquidated at any time without notice to repay charges; withdrawing needs 3 business days notice under the U.S. agreement

Is the Avalanche Card available in the US, the UK and the EEA?

US: yes. UK: not stated. EEA: not stated.

How much do you keep with the Avalanche Card?

−$48 a year on the U.S. plan at $1,000 a month with 20% in a foreign currency, after every fee.

Sources

  1. Avalanche Card home page and FAQ, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
  2. Avalanche Card U.S. Card Agreement, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
  3. Avalanche Card International Card Agreement, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
  4. Avalanche Rewards Terms of Service, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
  5. Avalanche Card - Pay Anywhere, App Store, app store, Nov-05, 2026
  6. Opening Account Disclosures (issuer privacy notice), issuer, Nov-05, 2026
  7. Avalanche Card on Paymentscan, paymentscan, Nov-05, 2026
  8. Avalanche Card International on CryptoCards.so, other, Nov-05, 2026
  9. Avalanche Card legal documents index, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
  10. Rain case study on the Avalanche Card, other, Nov-05, 2026

Something wrong or out of date? Report it with a source.