Exa Card
Exa is a self-custody app (passkey smart account on Optimism) with a free virtual Visa Signature card. You can pay now from your balance or pay later in installments borrowed against your deposits; there is no cashback and a 1.5% fee on non-USD purchases.
No partnership: we earn nothing from this card. Checked .
Plans side by side
| Price | |
|---|---|
| Monthly price | Free10No recurring or signup fees per Paymentscan; issuer pages list noneNot confirmed by the issuer |
| Yearly price | Free10Not confirmed by the issuer |
| Virtual card fee | Free10Free; card is created after KYC and a first depositNot confirmed by the issuer |
| Staking needed | 04Deposits are collateral for the credit mode, not a lock-up |
| Other requirements | Completed KYC and a deposit4 |
| Rewards | |
| Cashback | 0%10,5No cashback offered; the site mentions variable Exa Yield on deposited assets, not guaranteed |
| Perks | Visa Signature benefits (lounge access, travel assistance, car rental savings), Pay later in up to 9 installments, one every 28 days, at a fixed interest rate5,14Visa perks as advertised by Exa; terms of each benefit not checked |
| Fees | |
| FX fee | 1.5%1,6,10Charged on every non-USD purchase and built into the exchange rate. Paymentscan measured about 1.5% (see tests). Terms also list a 1% cross-border fee and foreign transaction fees of up to 1.5%, so the all-in cost on foreign purchases may be higher |
| Top-up fee | Crypto: none published. Bank deposits via Bridge: USD ACH 0.4%, USD wire 1.0%, EUR SEPA 0.7%, GBP 1.0%, MXN 1.0%2Exa covers Bridge fees up to $3,000 cumulative volume or 60 transactions (not US domestic wires) |
| ATM fee | 0.65%7 |
| ATM fixed fee | $17$1 per withdrawal; ATM operators may add their own fee |
| Limits | |
| ATM limit a day | 4 withdrawals a day7Up to $250 per withdrawal, i.e. up to $1,000 a day |
Real payments
What someone actually paid, which can differ from the advertised fee. Each test is one payment or a few, so treat it as a signal.
What you keep
$1,000 a month, 20% in a foreign currency, no staking. Change
Trust
Terms name Third National as issuer under Visa licence, but no issuer licence or regulator is stated and Exa Labs (Uruguay) holds no licence of its own. The Nimbus/Rain issuer reported elsewhere is not confirmed by the issuer.6,3
Self-custody smart account secured by passkeys; terms say Exa has no access to the keys. Collateral can be liquidated in credit mode and smart contracts carry risk.9,14
Live since Jul-2024 with about $24.1M of on-chain spend in total and roughly $1.7M a month, small compared with the leaders.10,13
Company
Issuer and licence
The card
Funding
Payments
Where it works
Account
Security
App
Reputation
Adoption
Referrals
More details
Quick answers
What does the Exa Card cost?
The Standard plan: Free a month, — for a physical card.
How much cashback does the Exa Card pay?
0% on the Standard plan, paid in a form not published.
What is the Exa Card FX fee?
1.5% on the Standard plan.
Is the Exa Card custodial?
Self-custody. Passkey-secured smart account; deposits are placed in Exactly Protocol markets as collateral and can be liquidated if a loan becomes undercollateralised
Is the Exa Card available in the US, the UK and the EEA?
US: no. UK: not stated. EEA: not stated.
How much do you keep with the Exa Card?
−$36 a year on the Standard plan at $1,000 a month with 20% in a foreign currency, after every fee.
Sources
- Exa Card associated fees and costs, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Onramping and offramping fees and limits, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Where is the Exa Card issued?, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- How does the Exa Card work?, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa App home, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa Card terms and conditions, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- How to withdraw cash from an ATM with your Exa Card, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa Card purchase limits, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa App terms and conditions, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa on Paymentscan, paymentscan, Nov-05, 2026
- Exactly security audits, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa App on the App Store, app store, Nov-05, 2026
- Exa Card review, Last Updated Jul-24, 2026, review, Nov-05, 2026
- How the Exa App works, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
- How to add funds to your Exa App, issuer, Nov-05, 2026
Something wrong or out of date? Report it with a source.